NORTHWEST FOOTBALL AWARDS SHORTLISTS ANNOUNCED Monday 12 November at Lancashire County Cricket Club


In a year when clubs from the north west have dominated the headlines, with both Manchester giants battling it out for the 2011/12 Premier League title in one of the most dramatic seasons in living memory, Liverpool winning the League Cup and Everton continuing to impress under the shrewd management of David Moyes, the judges on the panel for the 2012 Northwest Football Awards have completed the difficult task of shortlisting the region’s Player of the Year nominations for the top five divisions.

Supporters can now cast their vote to back their heroes and help decide which players will receive the various accolades. The current Premier League players nominated are Manchester City captain Vincent Kompany, Manchester United winger Antonio Valencia, international defenders; John Heitinga of Everton and Martin Skrtel of Liverpool and Wigan Athletic skipper Gary Caldwell. 

Other standout nominees include Bolton Wanderers goalkeeper Adam Bogdan, Blackpool defender Alex Baptise and former Crewe Alexandra and current Manchester United midfielder Nick Powell.

Fans can vote for their Player of the Year online by visiting and through the Northwest Football Awards Facebook account at 

Those submitting their vote also have the opportunity to enter a competition for the chance to win a pair of tickets to the Northwest Football Awards.

Consisting of professionals across all aspects of the game, including PFA Chairman Gordon Taylor OBE and former FA Chief Executive Mark Palios, the panel have announced the finalists that will be competing for various honours at the awards ceremony, which takes place on Monday 12 November at Lancashire County Cricket Club’s ‘The Point’ and will be presented by BBC Sport’s Dan Walker.

The awards also celebrate achievements across all areas of professional clubs – from the Premier League to the Blue Square Premier Division, including the best community initiatives, marketing campaigns and sponsorship engagement.

Special categories on the night will also recognise the Northwest Football Journalist of the Year, Manager of the Year, Goal of the Year, as well as a Lifetime Contribution to Northwest Football and an Unsung Hero Award.

The full shortlists for the divisional Player of the Year awards are as follows:

Barclays Premier League Player of the Year
Yakubu Aiyegbeni – Blackburn Rovers (now at Guangzhou R&F FC)
Adam Bogdan – Bolton Wanderers
John Heitinga – Everton
Martin Skrtel – Liverpool
Vincent Kompany – Manchester City
Antonio Valencia – Manchester United
Gary Caldwell – Wigan Athletic

npower Championship Player of the Year
Alex Baptise – Blackpool
Jay Rodriguez – Burnley (now at Southampton)

npower League One Player of the Year
David Worrall - Bury
Lee Miller – Carlisle United
Kieren Lee – Oldham Athletic (now at Sheffield Wednesday)
Thorsten Stuckmann – Preston North End
Jason Kennedy – Rochdale
David Buchanan – Tranmere Rovers (now at Preston North End)

npower League Two Player of the Year
Padraig Amond – Accrington Stanley
Nick Powell – Crewe Alexandra (now Manchester United)
Jose Veiga – Macclesfield Town (now with Harrogate Town)
Chris McCready – Morecambe

Blue Square Conference Player of the Year
Damian Reeves - Altrincham
Joe Connor – Stockport County
Tom Hannigan – Vauxhall Motors FC

Tickets and tables for his year’s Northwest Football Awards are still available, for more information visit

- Ends –